Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize (SSB) for Science & Technology 2020
CSIR
IMG

Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize for Science and Technology was instituted in the year 1957, in the memory of late Dr (Sir) Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar, FRS, the founder-director of the Council of Scientific & Industrial Research (CSIR). The SSB Prize is awarded each year on the basis of conspicuously important and outstanding contributions to human knowledge and progress, made through work done primarily in India during the five years, preceding the year of the prize.

Any citizen of India engaged in research in any field of science and technology up to the age of 45 years is eligible to be nominated. Overseas Citizen of India (OCI) and Persons of Indian Origin (PIO) working in India are also eligible. The SSB Prize, comprising a citation, a cash award of Rupees five lakh and a plaque, is given to each person selected for the award in the following disciplines:

 

• Biological Sciences
• Chemical Sciences
• Earth, Atmosphere, Ocean and Planetary Sciences
• Mathematical Sciences
• Medical Sciences
• Physical Sciences
• Engineering Sciences

 

The recipients of the Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize for Science and Technology are:

 

Biological Sciences

 

Dr Subhadeep Chatterjee
Laboratory of Plant-Microbe Interactions Centre for DNA Fingerprinting and Diagnostics Hyderabad 500 039
subhadeep@cdfd.org.in
Dr Vatsala Thirumalai
Neural Circuits and Development Laboratory National Centre for Biological Sciences Bengaluru 560 065
vatsala@ncbs.res.in

 

Chemical Sciences

 

Dr Jyotirmayee Dash
School of Chemical Sciences
Indian Association for the Cultivation of Science Kolkata 700 032
ocjd@iacs.res.in
Dr Subi Jacob George
New Chemistry Unit
Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Bengaluru 560 064
george@jncasr.ac.in

 

Earth, Atmosphere, Ocean and Planetary Sciences

 

Dr Abhijit Mukherjee
Department of Geology and Geophysics
Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur
Kharagpur 721 302
abhijit@gg.iitkgp.ernet.in
Dr Suryendu Dutta
Department of Earth Sciences
Indian Institute of Technology Bombay
Mumbai 400 076
s.dutta@iitb.ac.in

 

Engineering Sciences

 

Dr Amol Arvindrao Kulkarni
Chemical Engineering and Process Development
CSIR National Chemical Laboratory
Pune 411 008
aa.kulkarni@ncl.res.in
Dr Kinshuk Dasgupta
Materials Group
Bhabha Atomic Research Centre
Mumbai 400 085
kdg@barc.gov.in

 

Mathematical Sciences

 

Dr Rajat Subhra Hazra
Theoretical Statistics and Mathematics Unit
Indian Statistical Institute
Kolkata 700 108
rshazra@isical.ac.in
Dr U K Anandavardhanan
Department of Mathematics
Indian Institute of Technology Bombay
Mumbai 400 076
anand@math.iitb.ac.in

 

Medical Sciences

 

Dr Bushra Ateeq
Department of Biological Sciences & Bioengineering
Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur
Kanpur 208 016
bushra@iitk.ac.in
Dr Ritesh Agarwal
Department of Pulmonary Medicine
Postgraduate Institute of Medical Education and
Research, Chandigarh 160 012
agarwal.ritesh@outlook.in

 

Physical Sciences

 

Dr Rajesh Ganapathy
International Centre for Materials Science
Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research
Bengaluru 560 064
rajeshg@jncasr.ac.in
Dr Surajit Dhara
School of Physics
University of Hyderabad
Hyderabad 500 046
sdsp@uohyd.ernet.in