Dr Satish Mishra from CDRI Bags "Dr Tulsi Das Chugh Award-2020"

The Orations & Awards Committee of the National Academy of Medical Sciences (India) has selected Dr Satish Mishra, Principal Scientist, Division of Molecular Parasitology and Immunology, CSIR-CDRI, Lucknow, for the “Dr Tulsi Das Chugh Award” for the year 2020 in recognition of his research work on malaria parasite's life cycle which is a complex process involving two hosts and three invasive stages. Invasion in both mammals and mosquitoes requires a coordinated sequence of events to be played out successfully. 

His outstanding work focused on “Secreted Protein with Altered Thrombospondin Repeat (SPATR) which is essential for Asexual Blood Stages but not Required for Hepatocyte Invasion by the Malaria Parasite Plasmodium Berghei”. This study focuses on the dispensability of SPATR in P. berghei sporozoites and its importance for the establishment of blood-stage infection, further investigation is needed to unravel its precise role during this process.

Dr Tulsi Das Chugh Award carries a Scroll, a Commemorative Medal and Cash Incentive.  The Award will be given to him at the time of the Annual Conference of the Academy. 

Dr Satish Mishra is an elected member of the National Academy of Medical Sciences and the National Academy of Sciences, India. He has earlier been awarded the Shakuntala Amir Chand Prize in 2018 by the Indian Council of Medical Research and the Ramalingaswami Re-entry Fellowship in 2013 by Department of Biotechnology, Government of India.