Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize (SSB) for Science & Technology 2021
CSIR
IMG

Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize for Science and Technology was instituted in the year 1957, in the memory of late Dr (Sir) Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar, FRS, the founder-director of the Council of Scientific & Industrial Research (CSIR). The SSB Prize is awarded each year on the basis of conspicuously important and outstanding contributions to human knowledge and progress, made through work done primarily in India during the five years, preceding the year of the prize.

Any citizen of India engaged in research in any field of science and technology up to the age of 45 years is eligible to be nominated. Overseas Citizen of India (OCI) and Persons of Indian Origin (PIO) working in India are also eligible. The SSB Prize, comprising a citation, a cash award of Rupees five lakh and a plaque, is given to each person selected for the award in the following disciplines:

• Biological Sciences
• Chemical Sciences
• Earth, Atmosphere, Ocean and Planetary Sciences
• Mathematical Sciences
• Medical Sciences
• Physical Sciences
• Engineering Sciences

 

The recipients of the Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize for Science and Technology 2021 are:

 

Biological Sciences

Dr Amit Singh 
Department of Microbiology and Cell Biology 
Indian Institute of Science 
Bengaluru 560 012 
asingh@iisc.ac.in 

 

Dr Arun Kumar Shukla 
Department of Biological Sciences and 
Bioengineering 
Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur 
Kanpur 208 016 
arshukla@iitk.ac.in 

 

Chemical Sciences

Dr Kanishka Biswas 
International Centre of Materials Science 
Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for 
Advanced Scientific Research 
Bengaluru 560 064 
kanishka@jncasr.ac.in 

 

Dr T Govindaraju 
Bio-organic Chemistry Laboratory 
Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for 
Advanced Scientific Research 
Bengaluru 560 064 
tgraju@jncasr.ac.in 

 

Earth, Atmosphere, Ocean and Planetary Sciences

Dr Binoy Kumar Saikia 
Coal and Energy Research Group 
CSIR North East Institute of Science and Technology 
Jorhat 785 006 
bksaikia@neist.res.in 

 

Engineering Sciences


Dr Debdeep Mukhopadhyay 
Department of Computer Science and Engineering 
Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur 
Kharagpur 721 302 
debdeep@cse.iitkgp.ac.in 

 

Mathematical Sciences

Dr Anish Ghosh 
School of Mathematics 
Tata Institute of Fundamental Research 
Mumbai 400 005 
ghosh@math.tifr.res.in 

 

Dr Saket Saurabh 
The Institute of Mathematical Sciences 
Chennai 600 113 
saket@imsc.res.in 

 

Medical Sciences

Dr Jeemon Panniyammakal 
Achutha Menon Centre for Health Science Studies 
Sree Chitra Tirunal lnstitute for Medical Sciences 
and Technology, Thiruvananthapuram 695 011 
jeemon@sctimst.ac.in 

 

Dr Rohit Srivastava 
Department of Biosciences and Bioengineering 
Indian Institute of Technology Bombay 
Mumbai 400 076 
rsrivasta@iitb.ac.in 

 

Physical Sciences

Dr Kanak Saha 
Inter-University Centre for Astronomy and Astrophysics 
Pune 411 007 
kanak@iucaa.in