85th Anniversary General Meeting of the Indian National Science Academy

Dr Shekar C. Mande during his address


85th Anniversary General Meeting of the Indian National Science Academy (INSA) was organised at CSIR-National Institute of Oceanography, Dona Paula, Goa, during 16-18 December 2019. The Inaugural programme was presided by Director General, CSIR, Dr Shekhar C. Mande, Prof. Sunil Kumar Singh, Director NIO, and Prof. A.K. Sood, the then INSA President.

Around 250 scientists from all over the country, four overseas scientists and several invited experts participated in this annual mega event. In this event, wide-ranging subjects on some of the frontier areas of science and future issues of major societal importance were discussed.

The Academy also conferred fellowships to one overseas and 26 Indian scientists, INSA Teachers Award was presented to outstanding teachers for their exceptional contributions in providing guidance, inspiration and mentorship to students for careers in science & technology. In addition, 27 young scientists who demonstrated extraordinary promise and creativity through their research contributions received the INSA Medal for Young Scientists Award. 

Two Public Lectures were addressed by Bharat Ratna, Prof. C.N.R. Rao, and Shri R. Gopalakrishnan, Former Director, Tata Sons and Distinguished Professor, IIT Kharagpur.

Prof. C.N.R. Rao during his lecture on “Climbing the Limitless Ladder of Excellence” said that, “There has been implicit faith in the country that science will provide the foundation for its progress and development. With increasing competition, especially from our Asian neighbours, it has become important that we have to do more in the field of science.”

Delivering his lecture on "Lessons and Reflections: The Science of Business and the Business of Science", Shri R. Gopalakrishnan said, “Both science and business seek to create institutions, one for scientific thought and the other for commercial excellence. Thus both bear lessons on institution building.” His talk summarised a few experiences about his contributions and experiences in institution-building and organisational transformation.

During the valedictory function Dr Chandrima Shaha, Professor of Eminence (formerly Director), National Institute of Immunology, New Delhi, took over as President, INSA after the meeting. She is be the first woman President of the Indian National Science Academy since its foundation in 1935.