CSIR Technology Awards-2021

CSIR Technology Awards seek to foster and encourage multi-disciplinary in-house team efforts and external interaction for technology development, transfer and commercialisation. Technology Award comprises a cash prize of Rs 2 lakh, a plaque and a citation. “Most Significant CSIR Technology of the Five Year Plan Period” has a cash prize of Rs 5 lakh.


Life Sciences


Souvik Maiti, Mohd. Azhar, Rhythm Phutela, Manoj Kumar, Asgar Hussain Ansar, Riya Rauthan, Sneha Gulati, Debojyoti Chakraborty

CSIR-Institute of Genomics and Integrative Biology


For the Development of FnCas9 Linked Uniform Detection Assay (FELUDA) for COVID-19 diagnosis. A rapid, robust, and inexpensive CRISPR-Cas based diagnostic tool that provides a visual readout on a dipstick for the detection of monogenic and infectious diseases like SARS-CoV-2 and its variants.


Certificate of Merit


Probir Kumar Pal, Sanatsujat Singh, Er. Mohit Sharma, Ashok Yadav, Rakesh Kumar, Ram Kumar Sharma

Institute of Himalayan Bioresource Technology, Palampur


For the development of rebaudioside — a rich cultivar of ‘Him stevia’, advanced agrotechnology with 28% yield improvement, and green process technology for converting dry leaf into stevia glycoside powder with a purity of more than 95%.


Certificate of Merit


Rakesh K Mishra, T Karthik Bharadwaj, CG Gokulan, Sai Uday Kiran, Santosh K Kuncha, Archana B Siva, Divya Singh

Centre for Cellular and Molecular Biology, Hyderabad


For developing “Dry Swab-based Direct RT-PCR testing method”, a game-changing technology that is cost & time efficient &safer method for COVID-19 detection. It is ICMR-approved and implemented with more than 1 Lakh tests performed.


Physical Sciences including Engineering


Sadhana Rayalu, Penumaka Nagababu, Shilpa Kumari, G. K. Hippargi, Rakesh Kumar

National Environment Engineering Research Institute, Nagpur


For developing “Green firecrackers” which are “environmentally benign by design” with reduced chemical and environmental footprint. NEERI’s work has led to landmark judgment by the Apex Court for its implementation along with the imposition of related legal and policy interventions in October 2018.


Vijayakumar C., Jubi John, Sreejith Shankar P, Praveen V. K., Saju Pillai, Karunakaran V., A. Ajayaghosh

National Institute for Interdisciplinary Science Technology, Thiruvananthapuram


For developing fluorescent molecules and ink as security markers for the protection of Indian currency and prevention of counterfeit activities.




S Chandrasekhar, Ch. Raji Reddy, Prathama S Mainkar, M. Mohana Krishna Reddy, N. Jagadeesh Babu, Punna Nagender

Indian Institute of Chemical Technology (IICT), Hyderabad


For developing a cost-effective and scalable process for the synthesis of TLR 7/8 agonist molecule (IMDG), used as an adjuvant in COVAXIN® (COVID-19 vaccine)


Anjan Ray, Anil K Sinha,  Saleem A Farooqui, Rakesh Kumar Baghel,   Rakesh Kumar Joshi, Rohit Kumar, Parvez Alam, Tasleem Khan, C V Pramod, Anand Narani

Indian Institute of Petroleum, Dehradun


For developing a single-step process to make sustainable aviation fuel (SAF) from non-edible and used cooking oil.


Certificate of Merit


Sandip B. Bharate, Ajay Kumar, Sonali S. Bharate, Ram A. Vishwakarma, G.D. Singh, Deepika Singh

Institute of Integrative Medicine, Jammu


For discovery, preclinical development and out-licensing the Saffron-based nutraceutical product/ dietary supplement.


Certificate of Merit


A. Gangagni Rao, N.V.Satyanarayana, Y.V. Swamy, Bharath Gandu, Kranti Kuruti, Sameena Begum, Arelli Vijayalakshmi, Sudharshan Juntupally,  Shruti Ahuja

Indian Institute of Chemical Technology, Hyderabad


For the development of a novel high rate biomethanation technology based on “Anaerobic Gas lift Reactor (AGR)”, for the generation of biogas and biomanure from organic wastes.


Business Development and Technology Marketing


S.K. Pal, Amitava Mitra, Beena Kumari, Mita Tarafder, Ashish Kr Upadhyay, K.L.Hansda, K. Sudhakara Rao, G.V.S. Murthy

National Metallurgical Laboratory, Jamshedpur


For innovative marketing of knowledgebase, building strong linkages and partnerships for sustainable growth of revenue.


Certificate of Merit


From left Pradeep Kumar Singh, Aditya Rana, R. D. Dwivedi, C. Sawmliana, Murari Prasad Roy, More Ramulu

Central Institute of Mining and Fuel Research, Dhanbad


CSIR-CIMFR, based on its scientific expertise and knowledge base, has made significant contributions to the development of strategic and civil infrastructure sectors. 


Certificate of Merit


Sukhjinder Singh

Institute of Himalayan Bioresource Technology, Palampur


Business Development Group of CSIR-IHBT has made a significant contribution to market its technologies/services to farmers, industries, MSMEs and academia; and significantly enhancing its outreach.