INAE Young Engineer Award 2020

Three young scientists from various CSIR laboratories have received the INAE (Indian National Academy of Award Engineering) Young Engineer Award. INAE Young Engineer Award is instituted to identify, recognise and encourage young and promising talents in India who have made and are likely to continue to make outstanding contributions impacting engineering research and design, technology development and transfer. 


Recipients of Young Engineer Award 2020 from CSIR are as follows:


1.    Dr Pooja Devi, Senior Scientist, CSIR-Central Scientific Instruments Organisation (CSIR-CSIO), Chandigarh, (Material Engineering, Sensors, Water and Energy Harvesting Devices). 

Her research expertise is in the domain of materials engineering, techniques and associated affordable and portable devices development for water pollutants detection, degradation, solar hydrogen production, CO2 conversion, antimicrobial activity, etc. She has established methods for synthesis of varied categories of materials such as metallic nanostructures, transition metal oxides, semiconductors, carbonaceous nanostructured materials, 2D materials, MXenes, etc. Her investigations are published worldwide in highly reputed international journals and been recognized at the highest level. She has filed one patent, transferred 01 technology, published 52 international high impact publications, edited 04 books, 09 book chapters, 70 conference papers, and delivered 38 invited/oral talks. She has received funding/fellowships from DST, SERB, CSIR, ACS, IUSSTF, etc., for various projects. Dr Pooja is the recipient of several prestigious awards and fellowships also including SERB Women Excellence Award (2020).


2.    Dr M. Sathish, Scientist Gr. IV (2), Leather Process Technology Division, CSIR-Central Leather Research Institute (CLRI), Chennai, (Leather Technology). 

His area of research interest includes “Waterless Leather Manufacturing” and “Development of Eco-Benign Leather Chemicals”. He has published several papers in internationally peer-reviewed journals and filed 5 Indian patents to his credit. Recently, he has also received “Sujatha Venkateswara Rao Excellence Award for Technologists-2020” for his contribution towards the successful commercialisation of “Formaldehyde-free Chromium-Melamine Synthetic Tanning Agent”.


3.    Dr Prosenjit Das, Senior Scientist, Design and Manufacturing Research Centre, CSIR-Central Mechanical Engineering Research Institute, (CMERI), Durgapur, (Materials processing and Manufacturing). Dr Das has extensively worked in the field of Solidification and Semi-solid processing of Light alloys/composites, Bio-inspired manufacturing, numerical modelling in solid and fluid mechanics aspects manufacturing processes and testing, analysis of mechanical and fracture properties of different materials. Moreover, his work envisages in engineering component development following melting/casting and injection moulding route, along with fundamental research.

Dr Das has published approx. 70 papers in reputed international journals and International/National conferences. He is member of several professional bodies and serving as Editor, Reviewer of quite a few international journals of repute. Dr Das has many other awards to his credit.

The Award shall consist of a cash prize of Rs1 lakh and a citation. All INAE Young Engineer Awardees will also become INAE Young Associates on the conferment of the Award and shall continue to be “INAE Young Associates” till attaining 45 years of age. The decision of the INAE Council in all concerned matters shall be final.